Resources
The purpose of this page is to provide information and/or links to information that will be useful for nature photographers as a whole, and to California nature photographers in particular.
Links to information at sites outside CANP or NPN are provided as a service to our members. NPN and CANP are not responsible for the validity or usability of their content.
If you have a tip or a trick using your equipment, a procedure in Photo Shop, or other image editing software you would like to share, please be sure to introduce the topic and how it will be helpful. Next, include all steps in the procedure, and number them. If you are providing a link to information, please include the title of the site, page, or article. Also, please provide a brief description and the full URL (web address) to the information you would like others to view.
If you have information that you would like to see included here, please e-mail one of the moderators. We will then provide instructions for submission. Thank you.
Location-Specific Resources or Information.
- California State Parks
- Redwood National and State Parks
- Point Reyes National Seashore
- Muir Woods National Park
- Yosemite National Park
- Devil's Postpile National Monument
- Sequoia-Kings Canyon National Park
- Death Valley National Park
- Mojave National Park
- Joshua Tree National Park
Nature Photography Tips, Tricks, and Related Information
Remove Color Cast Using a Blur Layer in Photo Shop (from Preston Birdwell):
- Open your image in Photo Shop
- Create a copy of the background by choosing Layer>New>Layer Via Copy...
- Select Filter>Blur>Average (Your image will now be one solid color. Don't worry!)
- Create a Curves Adjustment Layer above the blur layer
- Click the Grey 'Eyedropper' in the Curves dialog box
- Place the 'eyedropper' anywhere in the image and then click to sample the color. (The image should now be some shade of grey)
- Discard the blur layer by dragging it to the trashcan in the layers palette (Your image should be visible with any color cast removed)
- If the color of the image is not quite what you want; say, it's now too blue, you can adjust the 'blue' channel in your curves layer to reduce the blue.
- Save the corrected image file
- Continue with further processing.
Using LAB Color and Lightness Channel in Photo Shop for Sharpening for Print (from Reno DiTullio):
- Open your image in Photo Shop
- Flatten the image by choosing Layer>Flatten
- Next, go to Image>Mode and select LAB
- Create a copy of the background layer by choosing Layer>Layer via Copy
- In the Layers pallet, and with your new layer active, select Channels>Lightness (your image will look faded and monotone)
- Next, go to Filter>Unsharp Mask
- Set the Radius at 1 px, Amount to 80, and Threshold to 4. Click OK
- To apply more USM, use Ctrl+F. Repeat as necessary to achieve the desired sharpness
- Flatten the image
- Go back to Image>Mode and select RGB
- Make a proof print to assess your sharpening and color.
Sharpening for the Web in Photo Shop (Marc Adamus technique, from Harley Goldman):
- Duplicate your 'master' file and save the duplicate
- Flatten the duplicate file
- Convert profile to sRGB
- Convert 16-bit file to 8-bit, if needed
- Re-size image to 72dpi, 1800 pixels on the long side
- Sharpen twice using the "Sharpen" option under the Filter>Sharpen menu
- Re-size to 720 pixels on the long side
- Save using "Save for Web", picking the desired file size. For NPN, I get as close to 200 KB as possible without going over.
Note that the number of pixels on the long side in STEP 5 needs to be experimented with to get the correct amount of sharpening. Using 1700 instead of 1800 will yield a sharper image. Using 1900 will give you a less sharp image. I try different number of pixels on each image until I get the look I want. I use the history and go back when trying different amounts.
Sharpening Using the 'Luminosity' Blending Mode on a Layer In Photo Shop (from Preston Birdwell):
- Duplicate your 'master' file and save the duplicate
- Flatten the duplicate file
- Size the image as needed
- Create a new layer: Layer>Layer Via Copy...
- Set the 'blending mode' of this layer to 'Luminosity'
- Sharpen as needed, using Unsharp Mask or another filter
- Flatten image
- Save the sharpened image
This technique does not affect color or saturation. If you do not like the results, you can either delete the USM states in the 'History' palette, or discard the layer.
"15%" Cloning Technique in Photo Shop (from Harley Goldman):
- Create a new layer above the background layer
- Select your cloning tool and set the opacity to between 7% to 20%. (12% is a good starting point)
- Find an area in your image that has a similar color, but has tone and texture compared to your blown area for your cloning "from" selection
- Using a soft brush lightly clone over your problem spot until it has the amount of color/detail/texture that you desire.
Links to Tips, Procedures, or Tutorials:
- Color Wiki from Chromix.com
- Tony Kuyper Photography—Using Luminosity Masks—Introduction
- The Photographer's Ephemeris
- Tutorials by Tony Kuyper
Links To Other Resources of Interest
- Recent Earthquakes in California from the USGS
- California Geo Tour-Geologic Field Trip Guides
- InciWeb-California Fire Information
- NWS Forecast for Lee Vining-Mono Lake
- NWS Forecast for Bishop
- NWS Forecast for Lone Pine
- NWS Forecast for Tioga Pass
- NWS Forecast for Point Reyes
- National Weather Service Forecast Office-Sacramento
- Mammoth Weather-Sierra East Side Forecast